I FEEL THE EARTH WHISPER

BIANCA BONDI, JULIAN CHARRIÈRE, SAM FALLS AND ERNESTO NETO
15 JUNE  - 03 NOVEMBER 2024
 

Amidst a world rapidly changing under the weight of climate change, the exhibition "I Feel the Earth Whisper" at Museum Frieder Burda invites us to contemplate the fragile beauty of the natural world and our profound interconnectedness with it. Through the installations of Bianca Bondi, Julian Charrière, Sam Falls and Ernesto Neto – including sculpture, painting, video and photography – the show curated by Patricia Kamp and Jérôme Sans, invites us to reflect upon our relationship with the forests and unique ecosystems of the planet, and to rekindle our historically rooted role as guardians of these vibrant living spaces. Exceptionally united for the first time, the artists' works not only draw our gaze outward to the natural landscapes but also invite the living world inside, creating immersive spaces that allow us to experience the interconnected realms of the human and the more-than-human. By weaving together threads of mythology, cosmology, and ecology, the exhibition encourages its guests to listen to and feel the voices and vibrations of the Earth anew.

Bianca Bondi, Scrying in Astral Ponds

Bianca Bondi, Scrying in Astral Ponds, 2023. Photo: Maru Serrano

Julian Charrière, Western Andean Cloud Forest

Julian Charrière, Western Andean Cloud Forest, Ecuador, 2024 © Julian Charrière, VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2024

As the Museum Frieder Burda commemorates its 20th anniversary, the exhibition "I Feel the Earth Whisper" pays tribute to its founder Frieder Burda's visionary spirit and enduring legacy. Connected to the greatest minds and creators of his generation, the German collector built his museum at a human scale. Designed by Richard Meier nestled within the picturesque park Lichtentaler Allee, a UNESCO World Heritage site in Baden-Baden, the museum's light-filled spaces create a harmonious symbiosis between art, architecture, and the breathtaking, contemplative natural surroundings. The interplay of light and nature within the museum’s architecture blurs the boundary between the outside and inside, creating a dynamic and immersive environment that challenges the traditional white-cube museum aesthetic. Situated near the borders of France and Switzerland, the museum resides within the enigmatic Black Forest, a region with legends and spiritual resonance. As a response to the museum’s unique history and positioning in Baden-Baden, a town steeped in the tradition of healing and restoration due to its mineral-rich thermal waters and historical bathhouses, the exhibition explores the concept of healing on multiple levels – physical, emotional, and environmental – calling for environmental stewardship and inspiring a harmonious relationship with ourselves and the Earth.

Sam Falls, Charon

Sam Falls, Charon, 2022. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich / Vienna © Sam Falls; Photo: Jorit Aust

Ernesto Neto, earthtreelifelove

Ernesto Neto, earthtreelifelove, 2022. Courtesy the artist and Tanya Bonakdar Gallery © Ernesto Neto; Photo: Dan Bradica

A rich accompanying program expands the museum space and conventional exhibition practice, engaging visitors to experience nature and community, body and spirit, in new ways.

Unser Medienpartner:

Podcast

The audio guide of the Transformers show delves into the experimental and animated nature of this radical exhibition. In four in-depth conversations, exhibition curator Udo Kittelmann investigates aspects and issues regarding artificial intelligence. These stimulating and inspiring conversations explore often surprising thoughts on “what if” scenarios in a radically changed future.
Louisa Clement (b. 1987 in Bonn, Germany) graduated from Düsseldorf art academy in 2015. Will machines become our doppelgangers? In this conversation, Udo Kittelmann and Louisa Clement speak about digital footprints, adaptive AI, digital networks, and isolation, sharing thoughts equally intriguing and disconcerting about three-dimensional likenesses.
Annemie Vanackere is a Belgian festival curator and theater director. Since 2012 she has been the director and CEO of the theater Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin. In addition to discussing the impact that the technologization and digitization of our lives has on the performing arts, Kittelmann and Vanackere talk about multiple intelligences and empathy.
Dr. Clara Meister is an international curator. Her curatorial work focuses on topics of translation, language, and music. In this conversation, Udo Kittelmann and Clara Meister explore the relationship between technology and nature, questioning technological progress and advocating more space for plant and other nonhuman intelligences in handling technological progress.
“Why are humans not content with themselves?” Alice Lagaay is a philosopher who is actively involved in developing performance as an interdisciplinary field of research. In this conversation on Jordan Wolfson’s animatronic sculpture Female Figure, Kittelmann and Lagaay discuss issues such as technological self-manipulation, the alluring and overwhelming qualities of machines, and the misogynistic aspects of the work.



Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Website. Mit der Nutzung unserer Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden (Mehr erfahren)

I FEEL THE EARTH WHISPER

BIANCA BONDI, JULIAN CHARRIÈRE, SAM FALLS UND ERNESTO NETO
15. JUNI  - 03. NOVEMBER 2024
 

In einer Welt, die sich angesichts des Klimawandels rasant verändert, lädt die Ausstellung "I Feel the Earth Whisper" im Museum Frieder Burda zu einer vertieften Auseinandersetzung mit der fragilen Schönheit der natürlichen Welt und unserer tiefgreifenden Verbundenheit mit ihr ein. Mit Installationen von Bianca Bondi, Julian Charrière, Sam Falls und Ernesto Neto, die Skulptur, Malerei, Video und Fotografie umfassen, lädt die von Patricia Kamp und Jérôme Sans kuratierte Ausstellung dazu ein, unsere Verbindungen zu den Wäldern und einzigartigen Ökosystemen des Planeten neu zu ergründen und unsere historisch verankerte Rolle als Bewahrer dieser pulsierenden Lebensräume wiederzubeleben. Auf einzigartige Weise miteinander verbunden, eröffnen die teils monumentalen Werke dieser Künstler*innen einerseits den Blick nach draußen in die Natur, zugleich holen sie die natürliche Welt nach innen und schaffen Räume, die die Verbindungen und Zusammenhänge mit den "mehr-als-menschlichen" Kräften, Zyklen und Prozessen der natürlichen und kosmischen Welt erfahrbar machen. In einer vielschichtigen Verflechtung von Mythologie, Kosmologie und Ökologie regt die Ausstellung die Besucher dazu an, die vielstimmigen Klänge der Natur mit allen Sinnen neu zu erfahren.

Bianca Bondi, Scrying in Astral Ponds

Bianca Bondi, Scrying in Astral Ponds, 2023. Photo: Maru Serrano

Julian Charrière, Western Andean Cloud Forest

Julian Charrière, Western Andean Cloud Forest, Ecuador, 2024 © Julian Charrière, VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2024


Anlässlich seines 20-jährigen Jubiläums würdigt das Museum Frieder Burda mit der Ausstellung "I Feel the Earth Whisper" den visionären Geist und das bleibende Vermächtnis seines Gründers Frieder Burda. Verbunden mit den größten Denkern und Schöpfern seiner Generation, baute der deutsche Sammler sein Museum in menschlichem Maßstab. Das von Richard Meier entworfene und in den malerischen Park Lichtentaler Allee, einem UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe in Baden-Baden, eingebettete Museum schafft mit seinen lichtdurchfluteten Räumen eine harmonische Symbiose zwischen Kunst, Architektur und der eindrucksvollen, zum Verweilen und Nachsinnen anregenden natürlichen Umgebung. Das Zusammenspiel von Licht und Natur innerhalb der Museumsarchitektur verwischt die Grenzen zwischen Außen- und Innenraum und schafft eine dynamische, immersive Umgebung, die die traditionelle Ästhetik des White Cube-Museums herausfordert. In der Nähe der Grenzen zu Frankreich und der Schweiz gelegen, befindet sich das Museum im geheimnisumwobenen Schwarzwald, einer Region mit Legenden und spiritueller Resonanz. Ausgehend von der besonderen Historie und Verortung des Museums in Baden-Baden, einer Stadt, die ob ihrer mineralstoffreichen Thermalquellen und historischen Kuranlagen im Zeichen der Heilung und Verjüngung steht - ergründet die Schau den Gedanken der Heilung auf mehreren Ebenen: der physischen, psychischen und ökologischen. Dabei thematisiert sie die Reziprozität - die wechselseitige Abhängigkeit und notwendige Fürsorge zwischen Mensch und Natur - und regt zu einem respektvollen, verantwortungsvollen Verhältnis zur Mitwelt an.

Sam Falls, Charon

Sam Falls, Charon, 2022. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich / Vienna © Sam Falls; Photo: Jorit Aust

Ernesto Neto, earthtreelifelove

Ernesto Neto, earthtreelifelove, 2022. Courtesy the artist and Tanya Bonakdar Gallery © Ernesto Neto; Photo: Dan Bradica


Ein umfangreiches Begleitprogramm erweitert den Museumsraum und die konventionelle Ausstellungspraxis und lädt Sie ein, Natur und Gemeinschaft, Körper und Geist auf neue Weise zu erfahren.

Unser Medienpartner:

Podcast

Experimentell und lebendig: Die radikale Versuchsanordnung der Ausstellung spiegelt sich auch im Audioguide der Ausstellung „Transformers“ wider. In vier intensiven Gesprächen thematisiert der Kurator der Ausstellung, Udo Kittelmann, Aspekte und Fragestellungen zur künstlichen Intelligenz. Lassen Sie sich von den anregenden Gesprächen inspirieren – die zum Teil überraschende Gedanken zu einem „Was-wäre-wenn“ einer radikal veränderten Zukunft durchspielen.
Louisa Clement (*1987 in Bonn) schloss 2015 ihr Studium an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf ab. Wird die Maschine zum Doppelgänger?: Im Gespräch zwischen Udo Kittelmann und Louisa Clement geht es um den digitalen Fußabdruck und lernfähige KI, digitale Vernetzung und Isolierung sowie das faszinierende und zugleich verstörende Ebenbild in dreidimensionaler Form.
Annemie Vanackere ist eine belgische Festivalkuratorin und Theaterleiterin. Seit 2012 leitet sie als Intendantin und Geschäftsführerin das Theater Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin. Im Austausch zwischen Kurator und Theaterintendantin geht es um die Technologisierung und Digitalisierung im Leben und dessen Bedeutung für die performativen Künste, um multiple Intelligenzen und Empathie.
Dr. Clara Meister arbeitet international als Kuratorin. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer kuratorischen Arbeit liegt auf dem Thema der Übersetzung, Sprache und Musik. Im Gespräch erörtern Udo Kittelmann und Clara Meister die Beziehung von Technik und Natur, sie hinterfragen den technischen Fortschritt und sprechen sich für mehr Raum für pflanzliche und andere nicht humane Intelligenzen im Umgang mit technischem Fortschritt aus.
„Warum ist der Mensch sich selbst nicht genug?“ Alice Lagaay ist eine Philosophin, die aktiv an der Entstehung des interdisziplinären Forschungsfeldes der Performance Philosophie beteiligt ist. Im Gespräch zur animatronischen Skulptur „Female Figure“ von Jordan Wolfson werden Fragen der technischen Manipulation des Selbst, der Faszination und Überwältigung des Maschinellen, aber auch der misogynen Aspekte des Werkes erörtert.



Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Website. Mit der Nutzung unserer Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden (Mehr erfahren)